The Blog

Find out what's happening.
Thomas Kueber
Sep 13, 2016
Meet our first jury members

As we are approaching the end of this year’s submission period we would like to take a minute and introduce you to the first members of our jury: Eddie Opara, Juliana Rotich, Giorgia Lupi and Nelly Ben Hayoun.

Eddie Opara

Eddie Opara studied graphic design at the London College of Printing and Yale University, where he received his MFA in 1997. He began his career as a designer at ATG and Imaginary Forces and worked as an art director at 2×4 before establishing his own studio, The Map Office, in 2005. He joined Pentagram’s New York office as partner in 2010.

A multifaceted designer, Opara’s work encompasses strategy, design and technology. His projects have included the design of interactive installations, websites, user interfaces and software, brand identity, publications, packaging, and environments, with many of his projects ranging across multiple media.

His work is in the permanent collection of the Museum of Modern Art and has appeared in publications such as Archis, Surface, Graphis and I.D.

Read more about Eddie:

Juliana Rotich

Juliana Rotich is a technologist, strategic advisor, entrepreneur, and keynote speaker. She is Executive Director of, a not for profit affiliate of BRCK Inc. for deploying reliable technology for the edges of society, and advocating for internet access and literacy. She drives partnerships for tackling social problems through connectivity and appropriate technology.  She is a Venture Partner in Africa Technology Ventures (ATV) which is raising a fund to invest in and support the growth of tech enabled startups in key sectors in East and West Africa.

Before that she co-founded Ushahidi Inc., a non-profit tech company that specializes in developing free and open source software and worked in the telecommunications and data warehousing industry for over 10 years.

Today, Juliana also serves as an advisor to the councils of BASF, Risk Cooperative, and the Lemelson Foundation.

Read more about Juliana:

Giorgia Lupi

Giorgia Lupi is an information designer. Her work in information visualization frequently crosses the divide between digital and print, exploring visual models and metaphors to represent dense and rich data-driven stories.

After graduating in Architecture at Ferrara University in 2006 she has been involved in multidisciplinary projects on the information, technology and interaction design fields, using design and data visualization to convey complex systems of information.

She is co-founder and design director at Accurat (, an information design agency based in Milan and New York; Accurat analyzes data and contexts and designs analytical tools and visual narratives that provide awareness, comprehension and engagement. Accurat was born in 2011 and since then has been working successfully with important Italian and international clients such as the European Union, the United Nations, Audubon Society, Popular Science, and ING Direct.

Read more about Giorgia:

Nelly Ben Hayoun
Dubbed the ‘Willy Wonka of Design and Science’, Nelly is an award ​winning explorer and director, a fearless and passionate provocateur. She is the Designer of Experiences at the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (SETI) Institute, Head of Experiences at We Transfer, a Wired Innovation fellow, Advisor to the United Nations Virtual Reality Lab, a member of the International astronautical federation and in 2013 Icon Magazine touted Ben Hayoun as one of the 50 international designers “shaping the future”. She works with leading scientists to devise subversive events and bring chaos and critical thinking amongst members of the public and institutions.
Led by the 2017 jury chair Ravi Naidoo, the Interaction Awards Jury will gather in early November in Santiago, Chile to select this years finalists in each category. Stay tuned for more updates on the jury!
Join the


You may use these HTML tags: <a href=""></a> for links, <strong></strong> for bold, <em></em> for italic, <blockquote></blockquote> for quoting text.



Interaction Awards is an initiative of the Interaction Design Association (IxDA), a global community of over 100,000 individuals worldwide dedicated to the professional practice of Interaction Design. Find out how to join your local group and get involved at

© 2012 - 2023 Interaction Design Association