The Blog

Find out what's happening.
Michelle Berryman
Aug 24, 2015
What’s different about our recognition categories

There are many things about the IxDA Interaction Awards that are unique — and uniquely geared to the work we do in interaction design. One of our differentiators is the way we classify and categorize entries. Most awards align entries around industries (e.g. medical, consumer goods, industrial, etc.) or around the manifestation of the experience (e.g. websites, portals, applications, mobile apps, games, etc.) This approach may work well for other awards programs, but we feel it misses a crucial quality inherent in interactive, experiential work: the intent behind the experience. This is why IxDA has chosen the following categories for our awards:

  • Connecting: Facilitating communication between people and communities
  • Engaging: Capturing attention, creating delight and delivering meaning
  • Empowering: Enabling people to go beyond their limits
  • Expressing: Encouraging self expression and/or creativity
  • Disrupting: Re-imagining completely an existing product or service by creating new behaviors, usages or markets
  • Optimizing: Making daily activities more efficient

Our 2015 Awards Gallery highlights this year’s winners in each category and will bring the categories to life for you in compelling ways — because interactive experiences are, by their very nature, compelling. Take a look.

Join the


You may use these HTML tags: <a href=""></a> for links, <strong></strong> for bold, <em></em> for italic, <blockquote></blockquote> for quoting text.



Interaction Awards is an initiative of the Interaction Design Association (IxDA), a global community of over 100,000 individuals worldwide dedicated to the professional practice of Interaction Design. Find out how to join your local group and get involved at

© 2012 - 2023 Interaction Design Association