The Blog

Find out what's happening.
MJ Broadbent
Jun 30, 2015
2016 Interaction Awards is Open!

Welcome! The fifth annual Interaction Awards is ready to receive your entries. Building on the success of the past four years, we’re excited to continue inspiring the global interaction design community to share, discuss, and celebrate excellence in our field. For a look back, visit the Interaction Awards Yearbook.

What stays the same

We’ll continue to accept entries in the following six categories: 
Optimizing, Engaging, Empowering, Expressing, Connecting, and Disrupting.

All entries will be evaluated based on established criteria for opportunity, audience, impact, craft and category appropriateness — first through anonymous peer-review by IxDA members and then, for shortlisted entries, by our 2016 Interaction Awards jury.

As in previous years, we actively encourage participation from all over the world and across all levels of experience. Entry fees have not changed and continue to be structured by professional or student status and geographic region. Read more about the Interaction Awards categories, rules, and prizes.

What is new
Thomas Kueber and I are honored to serve as co-chairs for the 2016-17 Awards and we, along with our stellar committee, aspire to build on the outstanding work of our predecessors. Originally conceived in 2010 by founding chairs Jennifer Bove and Raphael Grignani, and subsequently led in 2014-15 by co-chairs Janna DeVylder and Niklas Mortensen, the Interaction Awards program is core to IxDA’s mission. Thomas and I look forward to greeting you at the next Interaction Awards celebration on Friday evening, March 4, 2016, at the Interaction16 conference in Helsinki, Finland.

We are thrilled Kim Goodwin, VP of Product and User Experience at PatientsLikeMe, has agreed to be this year’s Jury Chair. Kim is the bestselling author of Designing for the Digital Age and is a major thought leader who speaks and teaches regularly at conferences around the world. Kim will be joined by an international jury panel of six experts across design domains, whom we will announce in the coming months. We invite you to give us your suggestions for jury members we should be considering.

Adapting to the schedule of the 2016 conference, we’ve also adjusted our milestone dates to give you more time to prepare your submissions and our peer reviewers more time to go deep into every project. This year the peer review process will be open to all IxDA members who would like participate. More information coming soon on how you can get involved.

We have exciting plans in store for this year’s Awards, and we can’t wait to share them with you. In the meantime, please help us spread the word:

• Tweet about the Interaction Awards (#IxDAwards) and follow us on Twitter for updates
• Show your support on Facebook Like the Interaction Awards

Help us to further elevate the practice of Interaction Design this year by entering your favorite project work — and encouraging others to enter theirs — by September 13, 2015. And, please, don’t hesitate to let us know if you have questions or suggestions: [email protected]

MJ Broadbent and Thomas Kueber

Join the


You may use these HTML tags: <a href=""></a> for links, <strong></strong> for bold, <em></em> for italic, <blockquote></blockquote> for quoting text.



Interaction Awards is an initiative of the Interaction Design Association (IxDA), a global community of over 100,000 individuals worldwide dedicated to the professional practice of Interaction Design. Find out how to join your local group and get involved at

© 2012 - 2023 Interaction Design Association